CRT ID

From ReplayResources
(Redirected from Crtid)
Jump to: navigation, search

The CRT ID identifies an emulator .crt file, allows it to check the file to a certain degree and distinguish wether emulation is provided or not. Knowing the CRT ID is of no real use for the end user but might pose useful for hacking around.

Cartconv supplied with VICE will convert binaries to .crt format by passing it the correct keyword.

For more details refer to the VICE manual, chapter 17.14 The CRT cartridge image format. The current cartridge.h from the VICE emulator may serve as well.

The table below gives an overview on the VICE emulation as of July 2021, and also shows the capabilities of some more or less recent hardware extensions.

Hardware supported by
CRT ID Cartridge VICE Source Retro Replay MMC Replay Easyflash 3 1541U (2.4c) 1541U-II (2.6k) 1541U2+ and U64 (3.10) Chameleon (9g)
0 generic 8k/16k/ultimax cartridge c64-generic.c yes yes yes yes 8k and ultimax are broken yes yes
1 Action Replay actionreplay.c yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
2 KCS Power Cartridge kcs.c no no no no no yes yes
3 Final Cartridge 3 final3.c no no no yes yes yes yes
4 Simons Basic simonsbasic.c no no no no no yes yes
5 Ocean ocean.c no no yes yes yes yes yes
6 Expert Cartridge expert.c no no no no no no yes
7 Funplay/Powerplay funplay.c no no no no no no yes
8 Super Games supergames.c no no no no no yes yes
9 Atomic Power atomicpower.c yes (Nordic Replay only) yes yes no loads but does not work yes yes
10 Epyx FastLoad epyxfastload.c no no no yes yes yes yes
11 Westermann westermann.c no no no no no yes yes
12 Rex Utility rexutility.c no no no no no no no
13 The Final Cartridge final.c no no no no no yes no
14 Magic Formel magicformel.c no no no no no no no
15 C64GS/System3 gs.c no no no yes yes yes yes
16 WarpSpeed warpspeed.c no no no no no no yes
17 Dinamic dinamic.c no no no no no no yes
18 Zaxxon zaxxon.c no no no no no yes yes
19 Magic Desk magicdesk.c no no no yes yes yes yes
20 Super Snapshot V5 supersnapshot.c no no yes yes yes yes yes
21 Comal80 comal80.c no no no no no yes yes
22 Structured Basic stb.c no no no no no no no
23 ROSS ross.c no no no no no no yes
24 Dela EP64 delaep64.c no no no no no no no
25 Dela EP7x8 delaep7x8.c no no no no no no no
26 Dela EP256 delaep256.c no no no no no no no
27 REX EP256 rexep256.c no no no no no no no
28 Mikro Assembler mikroass.c no no no no no no yes
29 Final Cartridge Plus finalplus.c no no no no no no no
30 Action Replay 4 actionreplay4.c no no no no no no no
31 StarDOS stardos.c no no no no no no yes
32 Easyflash easyflash.c no no yes yes (no write support) yes (no write support) yes (write support through EAPI) yes (write support through EAPI)
33 Easyflash X-Bank easyflash.c no no yes no no no no
34 Capture capture.c no no no no no no yes
35 Action Replay 3 actionreplay3.c no no no no no no no
36 Retro Replay retroreplay.c yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
37 MMC64 mmc64.c no no no no no no yes
38 MMC Replay mmcreplay.c no yes no no no no no
39 IDE64 ide64.c no no no no no no no
40 Super Snapshot V4 supersnapshot4.c no no no no no no no
41 IEEE488 c64tpi.c, tpicore.c no no no no no no no
42 Game Killer gamekiller.c no no no no no no no
43 Prophet 64 prophet64.c no no no no no no yes
44 Exos exos.c no no yes (external kernal) no yes (external kernal) yes (external kernal) yes (external kernal)
45 Freeze Frame freezeframe.c no no no no no no no
46 Freeze Machine freezemachine.c no no no no no no no
47 Snapshot64 snapshot64.c no no no no no no no
48 Super Explode V5 superexplode5.c no no no no no no no
49 Magic Voice magicvoice.c, tpicore.c, t6721.c no no no no no no no
50 Action Replay 2 actionreplay2.c no no no no no no no
51 MACH 5 mach5.c no no no no no no yes
52 Diashow Maker diashowmaker.c no no no no no no no
53 Pagefox pagefox.c no no no no no yes yes
54 Kingsoft Business Basic / Cardco S'more kingsoft.c no no no no no yes yes
55 Silver Rock 128 silverrock128.c no no no no no no no
56 Formel 64 formel64.c no no no no no no no
57 RGCD rgcd.c no no no no no no no
58 RR-Net MK3 rrnetmk3.c no no no no no no no
59 Easy Calc easycalc.c no no no no no no no
60 GMod2 gmod2.c no no no no no yes no
61 MAX BASIC maxbasic.c no no no no no no no
62 GMod3 gmod3.c no no no no no no no
63 ZIPP-CODE 48 zippcode48.c no no no no no no no
64 Blackbox v8 blackbox8.c no no no no no yes no
65 Blackbox v3 blackbox3.c no no no no no yes no
66 Blackbox v4 blackbox4.c no no no no no yes no
67 REX RAM Floppy rexramfloppy.c no no no no no no no
68 BIS Plus bisplus.c no no no no no no no
69 SD Box sdbox.c no no no no no no no
70 MultiMAX multimax.c no no no no no no no
71 Blackbox v9 blackbox9.c no no no no no no no
72 LT Kernal ltkernal.c no no no no no no no
73 CMD RAMlink ramlink.c no no no no no no no
74 H.E.R.O. bootleg hero.c no no no no no no no
75 IEEE Flash 64 ieeeflash64.c no no no no no no no
76 Turtle Graphics II turtlegraphics.c no no no no no no no
77 Freeze Frame MK2 freezeframe2.c no no no no no no no

The following table shows some essential properties of the various cartridges and can be helpful to find a matching CRT ID for a given cartridge dump:

CRT ID Type Cartridge Name Freezer ROM RAM Banking IO1 IO2 Encoded Comment
1 ar5 Action Replay V5 yes 32k 8k 4*8k Register ROM/RAM -
2 kcs KCS Power Cartridge yes 16k 128b - Register / ROM Register / RAM -
3 fc3 Final Cartridge 3 yes 64k - 4*16k ROM Register / ROM -
4 simon Simons Basic - 16k - - toggle 8k/16k - -
5 ocean Ocean - 256k/512k - 32/64*8k register - -
6 expert Expert Cartridge yes - 8k - enable/disable - -
7 fp Funplay/Powerplay - 128k - 16*8k register - -
8 sg Super Games - 64k - 4*16k - register -
9 ap Atomic Power yes 32k 8k 4*8k register ROM/RAM -
10 epyx Epyx FastLoad - 8k - - enable ROM - automatic disable by capacitor
11 wl Westermann - 16k - - - switch to 16k -
12 ru REX Utility - 8k - - - enable/disable by addr -
13 fc1 Final Cartridge 1 yes 16k - - disable / ROM (r/w) enable / ROM (r/w) -
14 mf Magic Formel yes 64k+32k 8k 8*8k RAM register - contains a mc6821
15 gs C64GS/System3 - 512k - 64*8k Bank 0 bank by addr -
16 ws WarpSpeed - 16k - - enable / ROM (write) disable / ROM (write) -
17 din Dinamic - 128k - 16*8k bank by addr - -
18 zaxxon Zaxxon - 20k - 4k+2*8k - - - banking by reads to ROML
19 md Magic Desk - 32...1024k - 4...128*8k register - -
20 ss5 Super Snapshot V5 yes 64k 32k 8*8k Register / ROM - -
21 comal Comal80 - 64k - 4*16k register - -
22 sb Structured Basic - 16k - 2*8k register -
23 ross ROSS - 16/32k - 1/2*16k enable bank 2 disable
24 dep64 Dela EP64 - 8k + user - user register - -
25 dep7x8 Dela EP7x8 - user - user register - -
26 dep256 Dela EP256 - user - user register - -
27 rep256 REX EP256 - 8k + user - user - register -
28 mikro Mikro Assembler - 8k - - ROM ROM
29 fcp Final Cartridge Plus yes 24k - - - register
30 ar4 Action Replay V4 yes 32k 4*8k register ROM
31 star StarDOS - 16k - - enable disable yes IO accesses charge/discharge a capacitor
32 easy Easyflash - 1M 256b register RAM - Flash ROM
33 - Easyflash X-Bank - - - - - - - this is not a physical cartridge
34 cap Capture yes 8k 8k - - - yes
35 ar3 Action Replay V3 yes 16k 2*8k register - -
36 rr Retro Replay/Nordic Replay yes 64k 32k 8*8k Register / RAM /ROM RAM / ROM - 128k Flash ROM
37 mmc64 MMC64 - 8k - - register register - EEPROM
38 mmcr MMC Replay yes 512k 512k register register - Flash ROM, additional EEPROM
39 ide64 IDE64 - 64/128/512k - 4/8/32*16k register - -
40 ss4 Super Snapshot V4 yes 32k 8k 2*16k RAM Register / ROM -
41 ieee IEEE488 - 4k - - register -
42 gk Game Killer yes 8k - - disable disable
43 p64 Prophet 64 - 256k - 32*8k - register
44 exos Exos - 8k - - - - - external kernal ROM
45 ff Freeze Frame yes 8k - - enable (read) disable (read)
46 fm Freeze Machine yes 16k - - enable (read) disable (read)
47 s64 Snapshot64 yes 4k - - - enable
48 se5 Super Explode V5 - 16k - 2*8k - register
49 mv Magic Voice - - register
50 ar2 Action Replay V2 yes 16k - 2*8k enable (r/w) disable / ROM (r/w) - IO accesses charge/discharge a capacitor
51 mach5 MACH 5 - 8k - - enable / ROM (write) disable / ROM (write)
52 dsm Diashow Maker yes 8k - - disable -
53 pf Pagefox - 64k 32k 4*16k register -
54 ks Kingsoft Business Basic / Cardco S'more - 24k - - mode by r/w - yes
55 silver Silver Rock 128 - 128k - 16*8k register -
56 f64 Formel 64 - 32k - 4*8k - register contains a mc6821
57 rgcd RGCD - 64k - 8*8k register -
58 rrnet RR-Net MK3 - 8k - - register - -
59 ecr Easy Calc Result - 24k - 8k + 2*8k bank by addr - -
60 gmod2 GMod2 - 512k - 64*8k register - - Flash ROM, additional EEPROM
61 max MAX BASIC - 16k 2k - - - -
62 gmod3 GMod3 - 2/4/8/16M - 256...2048*8k register - - Flash ROM
63 zipp ZIPP-CODE 48 - 8k - - enable / ROM (read) disable (read) -
64 bb8 Blackbox V8 - 32/64k - 2/4*16k - bank from addr -
65 bb3 Blackbox V3 - 8k - - disable (write) enable (write) -
66 bb4 Blackbox V4 - 16k - - enable (read) disable (read) -
67 rrf REX RAM Floppy - 8k 256k - / 32*8k - enable/disable by addr -
68 bis BIS Plus - 2/4/8k - - disable (write) -
69 sdbox SD Box - 128k 3 bytes 8*16k register - - sd2iec is on the same board
70 mm MultiMAX - 1M 2k 64*16k register -
71 bb9 Blackbox V9 - 32k - 2*16k Register / ROM -
72 ltk LT Kernal yes 8k 16k - register - - I/O page can be selected with a jumper
73 rl CMD RAMlink - 64k 8k
74 hero H.E.R.O. bootleg - 32k - 4*8k - register -
75 ieeeflash64 IEEE Flash 64 - 8k - - 6821 registers - - external kernal ROM (uses hiram clip)
76 turtle Turtle Graphics II - 16k - 2*8k enable bank 1 - -
77 ff2 Freeze Frame MK2 yes 16k - - disable (read) enable (read) -